Prof Mahmood Yakubu – Distinguished Scholar; Chairman, Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC)

Professor Mahmmod Yakubu became the Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) at the expiration of the tenure of Professor Attahiru Jega in 2015. He was born on May 15, 1962. He hails from Bauchi State.

Professor Yakubu attended Kobi/Shekal/Bakaro Primary Schools, Bauchi  (FSLC: 1968-1975); Teachers’ College, Toro, Bauchi State (GCE O’ Level: 1975-1980); University of Sokoto (Bachelor of Arts, First Class Honours in History: 1980-1985); University of Cambridge, England        (Master of Philosophy in International relations: 1986-1987) and University of Oxford (Doctor of Philosophy in History: 1987-1991).

Career Summary/Achievements:

  • Graduate Assistant – Lecturer I, University of Jos (1986 -1992)
  • Senior Lecturer, Nigerian Defence Academy, Kaduna (1993 -1995)
  • Associate Professor, Nigerian Defence Academy, Kaduna (1995-1998)
  • Professor, Nigerian Defence Academy, Kaduna (October 1998)
  • Head, Department of History, Nigerian Defence Academy, Kaduna (1994 -1996)
  • External Examiner, Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto (1995-2002)
  • Dean, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, Nigerian defence Academy (1998-2000 and 2002-2004)
  • External Examiner, University of Jos (2000)
  • External Examiner, University of Maiduguri (2000-2004)
  • External Examiner, Bayero University, Kano (2001-2004)
  • Member, Armed Forces Selection Board, 50-54 Regular Courses (1998-2002)
  • External Examiner, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria (2003)
  • Head (Director) of Academic Planning, Nigerian Defence Academy (2000 – 2002)
  • Pioneer Dean, Postgraduate School, Nigerian Defence Academy (2004 – 2006)
  • Chairman, Management Board of the Staff Schools (Primary and Secondary), Nigerian Defence Academy (2004-2006)
  • Member, Reform Team, Federal Ministry of Education (2006 – 2007)
  • Chairman, Presidential Technical Committee for the Consolidation of Federal Tertiary Institutions (2007)
  • Member, Federal Government Negotiating Team with the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) (2006 – 2009)
  • Executive Secretary, Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFund) (2007-2012)
  • Member, Presidential Task Team on Education (2011)
  • Member, Ministerial Implementation Committee on the establishment of nine new Federal Universities (2011)
  • Chairman, Committee on Needs Assessment of Nigerian Public Universities (2012)
  • Assistant Secretary, Finance and Administration, 2014 National Conference (2014)
  • Member, Implementation Monitoring Committee on Funds for the Revitalization of Nigerian Public Universities (2013 – 2015)



  • Fellow, Historical Society of Nigeria (FHSN)
  • Fellow, Nigerian Institute of Public Relations (NIPR)
  • Fellow, Hussaini Adamu Federal Polytechnic, Kazaure
  • Fellow, Kogi State Polytechnic, Lokoja
  • Fellow, Yaba College of Technology, Lagos
  • Fellow, Lagos State Polytechnic
  • Fellow, Adeyemi College of Education, Ondo
  • Doctor of Public Administration (Honoris Causa), Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki
  • Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa), Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma
  • Doctor of Law (Honoris Causa), Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto


Prizes and Scholarships:

  • Best student in academic performance, Teachers College, Toro (1980)
  • Three times winner, Federal Government Merit Award, Faculty of Arts, University of Sokoto (1983 – 1985);
  • Waziri of Sokoto prize for the best graduating Student in History, University of Sokoto (1985)
  • Cambridge Commonwealth Trust scholarship, University of Cambridge (1986)
  • Three times winner, Overseas Research Students (ORS) Award by the Committee of Vice Chancellors of UK Universities tenable at the University of Oxford (1987-1989)
  • Beit Fund Research grant, University of Oxford (1988)
  • Commonwealth Scholarship tenable at the University of Oxford (1989 -1991)
No Comments

Post A Comment